December/January Update

4 Dec

Colors of Grace

I hope this email finds you and your’s well. We’re well into the holiday season and I’m looking forward to all that December is bringing. I love this time of year. Driving down the road and seeing the lights on peoples houses, the cooler weather (although at the moment it’s 75 degrees outside!) and the fun gatherings with family and friends.

I’ve also enjoyed going through an advent devotional this season. I’m reading through a couple but one I’ve really enjoyed is written by John Piper. You can download it for free here. It’s been really good for me to take time at the beginning of my day to set my sights towards the Lord and the anticipation of His Son. Here’s one quote that struck a chord with me this Sunday as I was getting ready to go to church.

 “Is not my word like fire, says the Lord!” (Jeremiah 23:29) ‘Gather ‘round that fire this Advent season. It is warm. It is sparkling with colors of grace. It is healing for a thousand hurts. It is light for dark nights.’ – John Piper
Isn’t that beautiful? I love the imagery Piper uses…Sparkling with colors of grace, healing for a thousand hurts, light for dark nights. It’s so easy for me to just think of the scriptures as words on a page but they are so much more! It’s a story on fire with rescue, grace and salvation that comes alive to us through the birth of a baby at Christmastime. I’m really enjoying gathering around the fire of His word this advent season. 
**Please be sure to scroll to the bottom for Praise and Prayer Requests**

50%!!!

Praise the Lord! I’ve hit the half way mark! I’m so thankful for his provision over the past two months. If you remember in my last update I was at 43% – He has provided tremendously! As I set down the path towards being fully supported by June of 2013 I would love for you to pray about participating in my “50@75” campaign. If the Lord provided 50 new pledges at $75 a month I would be at 100%. This could be a new supporter, it could be a current supporter or church who increases their pledge or someone could take up two of those spots if they’d like. 😉 I trust the Lord is going to provide for my needed support in His timing but will you pray for my 50@75 campaign? I need 45 more people pledging at $75 or more a month. Thank you for praying for me during this season.

Year-End Giving

You may be in the process of considering your year end giving options. I would appreciate it you would think about either making a special year-end gift or a monthly pledge towards my ministry with the Global Youth & Family Ministries. The Lord is using the gifts of His people in great ways to reach the nations and the next generation! If you would like to talk with me about GYFM or if you’ve been thinking and praying about joining the team now’s the time! Please get in touch with me so I can answer any questions you may have. You can click on any of the links below to give or reply to this email!

What’s going on…

We had a great time with 19 members of the Burch family in town for Thanksgiving! My sister, 2 aunts and I ran a 5k on thanksgiving morning! It was so good to spend time with them. Right after thanksgiving we set up my parent’s Christmas tree in preparation for their 3rd annual Christmas open house. This past weekend I joined a group from my church to decorate a tree in East Atlanta Village. We ended up winning the competition with our signpost idea!  In a few weeks I’ll be spending some time with a missionary family who just arrived back to the US for Home Ministry Assignment.  I’m really thankful that even though I’m spending most of my time support raising I’m able to still meet with missionary kids and their families to provide encouragement to them as they transition. We’re also in the midst of planning for the next Area Retreat which is coming up in April! We’ll be headed to Spain to give care and encouragement to the Missionaries from Europe. Please be praying for our planning and preparation as we look forward to this event in April.
I hope you find yourself in the good company of family and friends, gathered around the fire of His word this Christmas. 
In Him, Ruthanne

Prayer Requests

Praise!

  1. 50% Support Raised!
  2. Good dessert sharing times in November
  3. A wonderful time with the Burch side of the family at Thanksgiving.

Prayer

  1. Continued provision of my needed support.
  2. That I would be faithful in following up with contacts made this fall.
  3. Some health problems I am having. Please pray for wisdom for the Doctors I am seeing and for clarity in diagnosis.
Leave a Reply

