What I’ve been doing – part one

2 Nov

I’ve been battling over whether to do these posts or not. Someone made a comment to me that you need to be careful how much you are posting about your work-outs/weight-loss because you don’t want it to seem like you are bragging. I definitely don’t want to brag. So If I come across like that I am sorry. I don’t intend to.

But a lot of people have been asking me…What have you done to lose all that weight? I usually just shrug my shoulders and say…what you’re supposed to do…eating the right things and exercising a lot. But I realize that’s not a super helpful answer. And I want to be helpful to people. If my story/journey can motivate one person to get healthy, then I’d say it’s all worth it. That’s what happened to me!

So I thought I’d share what I did/am doing. I’m going to break it up into two (maybe three) posts instead of one…so be on the look-out for more in the next few days!

I would like to say one thing before I start. This is what worked for me. I am not you…you are not me…everyone is different and that is what makes this a little tricky. Some of you may look at what I did and be all…”You’re cray cray! I’m never doing that!” Do what works for you. No one person’s routine is going to look exactly the same as someone else’s. Got it? Cool.

Part One – Exercise.

Sometimes it feels like the bane of my existence. Like the mountain I have to ascend before I can do anything else with my day. Other days it’s what pushes me…gives me energy and keeps me motivated for the rest of the day. But exercising/working out is a huge part of this journey. I can honestly say I wouldn’t be where I am today without the hundreds of hours I’ve logged at the gym.

At the beginning of the year when I decided I needed to get healthy I knew I needed to join a gym. I needed the financial accountability that the gym brought. I like to get my money’s worth out of something I pay for so if I’m shelling out money for the gym every month I wanted to get my money’s worth for it…So at the beginning I went almost every day. I don’t do that anymore. There’s a chain of gyms here in the Atlanta area that had many convenient locations to all the main places I go to on a regular basis. My house, my parents house, the office. So I figured that would be good for me. And it has been!

When I started working out I did the same thing every time…I did 35 mins on the elliptical and 25 lifting weights. I would make sure when I lifted weights I worked my legs, core and arms. So that’s what I did…every…day…for…8…months (give or take…i was out of town some so obviously didn’t do it then)…………….Looking back I can’t believe I did that…and that I didn’t get bored!

Well…back in September I started getting bored…The thought of getting on the elliptical was torture to me…I started freaking out…what do I do! So over the past 3 months I’ve started to incorporate other cardio exercises into my routine. You know…to shake things up. I still do weights almost every day I also take classes at the gym (my favorite being spin class) and I run. (side note – People would ask me over the first 8 months if I ran…and I would say…”oh no…I can’t run, I have a pin in my hip so I can’t run because of that…” balderdash! I can totally run! I’ve even run a 5k!!!! (my sister and a friend of mine ran it with me…you can see her post about it here) and I’m running 2 more races in the next month! I’m also going to try and up my distances in the near future)

So that’s where I am now with the exercise part. I work out 6 days a week. (taking Sundays off – at first I would feel guilty about not going all 7 days but a friend (who also happens to be a personal trainer) told me it’s good for your body to have a rest at LEAST one day a week. So if a personal trainer says it’s ok to take a break than I guess it’s ok. 😉 ) I try and keep a good variety in my work outs. I basically do 2 days of elliptical, (yes I still do that…it’s a good workout and I can read while I’m on it!) 2 days of taking a class and 2 days of running. And most of those days I’m also doing some form of strength/weight training.

So that’s what worked for me so far! It’s been really cool/amazing to see my body change…and discover muscles I didn’t even know I had! And to push myself to limits I never thought I could go. I’ve climbed a mountain! I’ve ran a race! It’s really hard but it’s so fun!

If you are just starting out on your own journey don’t get overwhelmed by the big picture. Start small. Start by just building time into your schedule to work out…maybe 3 days a week. When that becomes routine for you, add a day, then add another. You don’t have to go all out at the beginning. And just start moving! Even if it’s just walking around your block for half an hour. Just get moving. It doesn’t matter how fast or slow you go. Just. Move. One of my favorite quotes I’ve seen about this is…”No matter how slow you are going you are still lapping everyone on the couch.”

Next up…the four letter F word…. 😉

FOOD!

click here to read part two
Click here to read part three

7 Responses to “What I’ve been doing – part one”

  1. Marty November 2, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    I can’t imagine anyone thinking it is bragging. Really. I’d call it rejoicing, and I’m standing on the sidelines with my big “Go Ruthanne!” sign and cheering you on. Keep right on rejoicing and thanking God!

  2. Robyn November 2, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    I totally agree with Marty… this isn’t bragging, but a celebration of feeling good about yourself and beginning down the road of living a longer, healthier life. You will definitely be (and probably already are) an inspiration to others!

  3. alyssaamarshall November 2, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Amen and Amen! You go girl and shout it from the Mountain tops. This is you having a victory and we want to join in that celebration and encourage you accordingly! You are an inspiration and this makes me want to get my butt of the couch and work out … Alas, Alias is just too interesting ;-). I love you so much and I can’t wait to read more about your journey!

  4. Clare November 2, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    I agree with all! Bragging? Heck NO! Rejoicing, yes. Celebrating, yes and SHOUT it from the Mountain Tops! You’ve earned it & ill stand right next to you & tell everyone what you’ve done & I am so proud of you. Yep! You go Girl. I love you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I’ve been doing – part two « God | Life | The World - November 4, 2012

    […] *click here to check out part one* […]

  2. What I’ve been doing – part three « God | Life | The World - November 6, 2012

    […] *click here to read part one* […]

  3. Article: Loving the creation & the creator | GYFM - November 7, 2012

    […] *click here to read part one* […]

Leave a Reply

