Oatmeal goodness

2 Nov

People seems to have REALLY strong opinions about oatmeal. They either love it in all it’s ‘stick to your ribs’ goodness or they hate it and think the texture and taste is like glue (or something else that I won’t mention 😉 )

All that aside…I LOVE oatmeal. It’s such a great breakfast when the mornings start to get chilly. I have a friend who makes the best apple cinnamon oatmeal and I’ve been trying to replicate his recipe for a while (with varying degrees of success).

In my attempts to shake up my breakfast routine I decided try an idea for Pumpkin Pie flavored oatmeal that I’d seen on pinterest. I didn’t follow a recipe exactly…just kind of made it up as I went along. 😉 It turned out pretty good if I do say so myself so I thought I’d share the love. 😉

I didn’t take any pictures because…let’s be honest…oatmeal doesn’t photograph well.

Here’s what you’ll need. (B T Dubs…this makes one bowl…so adjust your quantities depending on how many people you’re making this for)

1/2 cup of quick cook oats, 1/2 cup of almond milk, 1/2 cup of water, 1/4 cup of canned pumpkin (not the pumpkin pie mix…100% pure pumpkin) 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, and for my secret ingredient…1 tbs of pumpkin butter (I like my oatmeal a little on the sweet side so I found this adds sweetness with out a ton of calories and a lot of pumpkin flavor! trader joes has a great one!)

Cook the oats according to the instructions on the side of the container. Mine says 1/2 cup of oats to 1 cup liquid. I use half water and half almond milk. Add the pumpkin pie spice to the milk/water in the pot & bring the liquid to a boil.

When your liquid is boiling add your oats to it, stir to combine and reduce the heat to medium. (mine only take a minute or two to cook). While they are cooking take the bowl you are going to eat your oatmeal in and heat up your pumpkin and pumpkin butter in the microwave. It doesn’t take long…just 45 secs or so…Just so the pumpkin and pumpkin butter is warm and it doesn’t cool off your oatmeal.

Once the oatmeal is done add it to the pumpkin mixture in the bowl and stir it up so that everything is combined well!! You can sprinkle a little more pumpkin spice mixture on top if you’d like to make it look pretty. 😉

There you have it…Super easy and Super yummy!!!

Enjoy!!!!

One Response to “Oatmeal goodness”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. recipes « God | Life | The World - February 14, 2013

    […] My latest version of oatmeal is a very berry oatmeal! I’ve shared another fall themed version here. […]

Leave a Reply

