100

15 Sep

I’ve been on a journey over the past 9 months. It’s a journey I haven’t shared with many people. And something that I haven’t wanted to share here for one reason or another. But I’ve hit a milestone in that journey and I’m ready to share it. Not to shout from the roof-tops, “look what I did!” But to tell you of the Lord’s faithfulness, grace and tenacity for this girl.

Are you ready?

Back in December I was hanging out with some friends and was using the bathroom at their house and there was a scale. For reasons I can only chalk up to the Lords prompting I got on the scale and was horrified by what I saw. I had known for a while that I was not in a healthy place but always pushed it under the rug. But for some reason that number I saw on the scale scared and disgusted me. I was tired and done. I was tired being the way was and done pushing it under the rug. I had this weird feeling that if I didn’t do something about it now I would never do anything.

I decided that I was going to change. I started working out 6-7 days a week. Those first months were really hard. I wanted to quit so many times. But I kept at it. I can’t tell you how many times I wanted to cry on that eliptical…telling the Lord, “I can’t do it!” And every time I told Him that he said back, “I know you can’t, but I can.” And He gave me the strength to keep going.

I also made some decisions about what I put in my body. I needed to start looking at food as a fuel for my body. Things that would make it run well. So I changed how and what I ate and started keeping track of everything I ate using an app on my phone.

There have been ups and downs in this journey. I’ve cried, I’ve laughed, I’ve done things I never thought I could do. So what’s this milestone? Ready? 😉

I’ve lost 100 pounds!!!!!!!!!! 100!!!!!!!!!! PRAISE THE LORD!!!!!!!!!!

(for my australian friends that’s 45.3 Kilos….I like how it sounds in pounds better 😉 )

I’m so thankful to the Lord for giving me the strength and willpower to keep on this journey. I honestly don’t know how I would have done it otherwise. I’m also SO SO thankful to my friends and family for continuing to support and encourage me along the way. You’ve been my cheerleaders! I didn’t know how important that was going to be to this process.

But, this journey isn’t over by any means. And it isn’t just my physical appearance that has changed. I could write a whole other blog post on all the internal stuff that goes on when you lose 100 pounds. I think I’ll save that for another post.

But just for grins and giggles I decided to google “things that weigh 100 pounds” just to see what it said…. 😉

Twelve gallons of drinking water.
A hellfire missle (or HAL-3).
A large dog, like a Labrador.
Three cinderblocks can be about 100 pounds.
A typical semi-truck trailer tire.
A two month old baby horse.

So there you go.

And if you’re a visual person like I am… *cringe* here’s a before and now (actually in july) picture. I haven’t had a any pictures taken of me recently.

So! Onward!!!! I’m loving this journey! Want to join me on it? It’s really hard, you sweat a lot, but it’s really cool!

8 Responses to “100”

  1. SC September 15, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    What a blessing and inspiring post! Congrats Ruthanne!!!!!! What an achievement!!!

  2. Andrea September 15, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    You know what else weighs 100 pounds? Carol Gann.

    • ruthanneclare September 15, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      Ahahahahahah!!!!! Oh my word! That’s hilarious!!

      ruthanne burch :: 404.401.6282 ruthanneclare.wordpress.com gyfm.org

  3. Heather September 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    I am so proud of you and so humbled by your perseverance. I am literally crying happy tears!

  4. Judy Kirkpatrick September 17, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    I too am crying happy tears, Heather! Loved your transparency and perseverance! You always have been beautiful but I love having a healthier you!

  5. Gwen Taylor (Aust) October 1, 2012 at 3:21 am #

    Ruthanne you look fantastic. I remember you as a humble special girl who loved her
    Doc Martins. Praise the Lord for His faithfulness in your journey and your commitment to keep going.

  6. Jessica@sweatismysanity October 1, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    WOW. Congrats…that is so fabulous, I’m so happy for you. You must be beeming! 🙂 I found you over at Eclectic Whatnot. Come check out Ruthanne’s guest post over at sweatismysanity.com we do a series called Motivate Me Monday featuring people who’ve discovered health and fitness and want to help others by sharing their story. I’d love to feature you on an MMM in November if you’re interested. Let me know if you are at sweatismysanity@gmail dot com. You can click on the MMM tab on the sidebar to read previous posts. xo, Jessica

    SweatIsMySanity.com

  7. Becky October 1, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    Oh My Stinkin’ Word, Ruthanne!!!!! You look gorgeous and I bet you feel great. Oh My Stinkin’ Word!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

