…who suffered there for me…

6 Apr

It was now about the sixth hour,and there was darkness over the whole land until the ninth hour,while the sun’s light failed. And the curtain of the temple was torn in two. Then Jesus, calling out with a loud voice, said, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit!” And having said this he breathed his last. Now when the centurion saw what had taken place, he praised God, saying, “Certainly this man was innocent!” And all the crowds that had assembled for this spectacle, when they saw what had taken place, returned home beating their breasts.

Luke 24:43-48

::::::

Upon the cross of Jesus, mine eye at times can see
The very dying form of One Who suffered there for me
And from my stricken heart with tears two wonders I confess
The wonders of redeeming love and my unworthiness

Beneath the Cross of Jesus

::::::

It’s always been weird to me that the day we commemorate our savior dying on the cross for us we call Good. For those who witnessed His death I’m sure they thought it was anything but good. Do you think they understood what they saw? Do you think even if they knew they would have called it good? We have the benefit of hindsight. We have the benefit of realizing that our savior died for us while in the same breath knowing what would happen three days later.

I hope on Sunday I can celebrate the joy while remembering the sacrifice.

One Response to “…who suffered there for me…”

  1. here May 26, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    This website has got some very helpful info on it! Thank you for helping me!

Leave a Reply

