March GYFM Update

22 Mar

I feel like I went to bed yesterday and it was the beginning of February and
there was still a chill in the air. Then I woke up and it was the end of
March, it’s 85 degrees outside and my car is cover in pollen! Where did the
time go! The Lord has been doing some awesome things lately and I’m excited
to tell you about them! Buckle up!

Make sure you scroll down for a special note/need for prayer for my family.
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

How’d it go?
Youth World Awareness Weekend (YoWAW) – My time at YoWAW went really
well.  I did my seminar 3 times over the course of the weekend and got some
good feedback from people that where there.  Thank you so much for praying!
I’m excited to be part of this retreat and hope to have more involvement in
it next year.

Briarwood Missions Conference – What a sweet time of reunion! I had such a
good time catching up with old friends and co-workers from my time at
Briarwood. Briarwood’s missions conference is known for having a packed out
schedule for the missionaries who are participating and my schedule did not
disappoint. I spoke 19 times over 4 days! It was so fun to share with the
folks there my story, the vision of GYFM and what God is doing in and
through our ministry. Thanks for praying for my time there. The Lord was
good and I left encouraged.

Covenant College Weekend – Right after the missions conference I hopped in
my car and headed up I-59 to Chattanooga just in time to have lunch with
team members Eric, Jonathan and the Wilkins before Eric & Jonathan headed
out of town! The Wilkins and I then hosted some college-aged MKs for some
ice-cream sundaes and games. It was a fun evening and proved to be a needed
study break for many of the students. It was fun to catch up with some of
the students before they headed out on Spring Break.

Interview & Orientation – I had a week back in the office then we were off
and running for Interview & Orientation (I&O)! I helped lead worship during
this particular I&O and that was so much fun. I love that the Lord has
brought drumming back into my life and I am able to use it to lead people in
worship! And that that is part of my job is even better! I had a great time
talking with the missionaries that were going through I&O and sharing with
them what it’s like to grow up as a missionary kid. I especially enjoyed
getting to talk to a family who will be headed to Australia!  It was so fun
to reminisce with them and share with them my experience about growing up in
that country. During I&O team-mates Eric, Jonathan & John where here and we
had some strategy, vision and goal setting conversations. We did a lot of
thinking and discussing what GYFM will be involved in in the future and what
the rest of 2012 will look like for us.  It was also fun to just have them
in the office! Please continue to pray for us as a team as we discern where
the Lord wants us to go, be and do. Also pray for all of us as we continue
to raise support.
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Family Matters
While all this has been going on the Burch family has been having a bit of a
rough patch. My mom has 2 bulging and one herniated discs in her neck. These
have been extremely painful for her and have been at times debilitating. She
has had to cancel many commitments in the past 3 months because of this
issue. Physical therapy, 3 rounds of cortisone shots, rest and medication
have been of little help to her. So after almost 4 months of this going on
you can imagine it has been hard road for her and my dad, sister and I as we
care for her. She met with a surgeon just yesterday and he recommended
surgery to repair her herniated disc which he believes is causing the
problem. The surgery is scheduled for this coming Monday (March 26). Would
you please pray for my mom? Please pray for healing through this surgery.
Pray for the doctors who will be performing the surgery and for a quick
recovery. My dad will be traveling to Hong Kong to speak at a retreat just a
week after my Mom’s surgery and I will be working from their house so I can
care for her. Would you pray for me during that time too? That I would love
and care for my mom well and that my Dad would not worry while he is away.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Coming Up
The next month doesn’t have any travel on the schedule but it will be busy.
I’ll be continuing to work on plans for the missions trip to Progreso, planning our GYFM team retreat at the end of May and working towards many of the events we have coming up this summer. I’d appreciate prayers that I would be able to keep all the details in order for these events.
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Thank you all for your prayers for me, my family and the Global Youth &
Family Ministries!

By His Mercy,
Ruthanne

Leave a Reply

