I did something stupid

16 Sep

I did something stupid tonight.

I was having dinner with a friend in Decatur and all was well. When we went to leave I had trouble locating my keys. If you know me at all you may know that I often have trouble finding my keys….and I’ve found them in lots of fun places. Inside shoes, inside trash-cans, behind bookshelves and even in my purse even though I swear they were not in there. And tonight I did find my keys….in my car.

But not just in my car…in my ignition…with my car still running…and unlocked….

For an hour and a half.

I know…stupid…so stupid.

My car has a feature that does not allow you to lock your car when the keys are in the ignition so if I had tried to lock it I would not have been able to and would have noticed that my keys were still in the ignition. Thankfully my car was still there and everything was safe and sound inside. THANK YOU JESUS!!!

But this minor (or perhaps major) brain-fart got me thinking. I would call my self a fairly organized and detail-oriented person. But after a incident like this I’m starting to second guess myself.

Is it possible to be absent-minded but still organized?
Can I call myself detail-oriented when I somehow manage to forget this (rather large) detail?
Has anyone ever heard of early-onset Alzheimer’s occurring at age 28?

I think I’m going to take my aunt’s advice…”Slow your life down!” She also said “You are a mess!!” which I can’t disagree with either.

So heres to slowing life down….now how might one do that?

2 Responses to “I did something stupid”

  1. Saras September 16, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    🙂 I love this story…

    • ruthanneclare September 16, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      Thanks Saras…still shaking my head at myself!

Leave a Reply

