Pinterest in Real Life – Make your own flip-flops!

3 Sep

*so it turns out someone has done this idea…oh well…i’m still going to keep going with this…onward!*

20110903-120911.jpg

I don’t know about you but I’m not the biggest fan of those rubber flip-flops you can get in every color on the face of the planet. The strap part has always dug into my foot leaving me with blisters!

So when I saw this idea on Pinterest I thought…HOW FUN! I’ve got to try it.

I found the instructions for the flip flops here. http://www.themotherhuddle.com/tutorial-the-knot-so-hard-flip-flop-diy/

So here’s what you need…

A pair of generic rubber flip-flops, fabric – (about a yard long and a 1/4 of a yard wide) and scissors.

Note – I used an old shirt that shrunk in the wash for the fabric and the flip-flops were a $1.98 from my local mega store that starts with a “W” and ends with “al*Mart”.

first I took off the rubber straps. just pull the nibs through the holes from the bottom and snip.

20110903-114047.jpg

now you have strapless flip-flops….or in my case…a raft for a mouse.

20110903-114236.jpg

now cut your fabric in 4 even strips so that each strip is about half a yard long. cut the ends into a point.

20110903-114348.jpg

put two strips together and pull the through the top hole and tie a double knot on the bottom

20110903-114526.jpg

the top should look like this. then tie a knot about 1 inch up from the foot bed. then tie another knot either right after that one or further down.

20110903-114649.jpg

then split the two pieces and thread them through the two bottom holes

20110903-114832.jpg

you can try them on to make sure you get a snug fit but I just pulled it tight and tied a knots underneath. the fabric is going to stretch so it’s best to be on the snug side.

20110903-115013.jpg

TADA – I apologize for subjecting you to my pastey white feet and unpedicured toes…gross.

20110903-120439.jpg

the verdict? the were pretty easy to make and i’d probably change some things if I were to make them again. but they’re cute for a $2 pair of flips.

I’ll probably keep them in my car if I ever need an emergency pair of sandals or use them for when I get pedicures. they give good access to my toesies. 😉

so a fun first project and I’m looking forward to trying another soon!

be sure to include a link back here and I’ll post everyone’s projects!

Leave a Reply

