Monthly Update – August 2011

16 Aug

Back in the saddle again

**Insert your favorite country western music here**

I often feel like the only consistent thing in my life is that it will be inconsistent and busy. I often thrive on that though. The going here and going there, the meeting people, the phone calls, the text message conversations, the emails are all things I love. My extroverted self thrives on that. But I know that I need to slow down too. As I look around at my desk and take a peek at what’s ahead on my calendar I get a little overwhelmed. There’s a lot coming up in the next year. All of which I’m excited about but I’m still a little nervous about all the unknowns that come along with it. So in all the consistent inconsistency I long for a constant (any Lost fans out there?) that I can run to. To be grounded to.

I’m so thankful I have that in my Heavenly Father. He’s the steady rock I can be grounded to when it feels like I’m going in 20 different directions. If it weren’t for His grace and mercy and His work in my life I wouldn’t even be where I am today. One of my favorite books is The Jesus Storybook Bible. It’s a wonderfully written and beautifully illustrated book of paraphrased bible stories that walk you through the bible and how every story whispers the name of Jesus. There is a line in the book that is repeated over and over to help up remember God’s love for us. And I love it.

“His Never Stopping, Never Giving Up, Unbreaking, Always and Forever Love”
That’s my constant. My grounding. My Rock. I pray it will be your’s too.

CCMI – New York

The rest of my time in New York was good. (you can read about the first half here) After some initial challenges we fell into a good routine and had some fun times with the kids there. You can be praying for the folks that were at CCMI as they continue to take steps towards moving to the field. One family has even already moved! This family made up the majority of the youth program. Please be praying for Liz, Maly, Maggie, Serah, Monichea, Catherine & Frances Rhea as they transition to a new school and make the adjustment to Cambodia. Also be praying for Joshua Sink as he and his family continue to support raise and prepare to move to Japan.
To the left you’ll see all of us at the United Nations! In my opinion we were our own little United Nations! Thank you so much for praying for me during this trip.

Celebrations

I travelled up to St. Louis a couple of weeks ago to a couple of different GYFM events. One of which was out first ever complete team dinner. It was so fun to have our whole GYFM team all in one room. I count it a privilege to not only serve on such a stellar team but also serve with my friends. it was a fun evening and can’t wait until we get to do it again.

While I was in St. Louis I was able to attend the wedding of a dear friend. Marta Douglass is one of our GYFM Associates and has served on Area Retreat Youth Teams for 4 years. It was so fun to be able to travel to St. Louis to see her get married to Englishman Jono Wilcox. It was a beautiful wedding and was so fun to celebrate with them and other GYFM friends. I’m so excited for Marta & Jono and can’t wait to see what the Lord has in store for them. To the right is a picture of me and Lindsey at Marta’s wedding. Since Marta married a guy from England we couldn’t’t pass up the opportunity to partake in British tradition and don a fascinator to the wedding.

Last weekend I journeyed up to Lookout Mountain, GA to see MK Rachel Young marry her college sweetheart Hans Anderson. It was so fun to get to witness a girl I met in Panama on my very first Area Retreat and see her all grown up and getting married. It was a beautiful ceremony and I felt privileged to be there. Congrats Rachel & Hans!

What fun to be part of all these events!

What’s coming up?

INTERVIEW & ORIENTATION
We have 3! GYFM couples coming through I&O this September and I couldn’t be more excited. I, along with my boss Eric Larsen will be sharing about the GYFM and raising children on the mission field with the missionaries during I&O. This is a fun and exciting time to see these folks take the first steps in following God’s call for them to the mission field. It’s even more fun when you have team-mates there too!

AREA RETREAT
We’re in full blown Area Retreat (AR) mode! These retreats are one of my favorite things about my job and I love when AR season roles around! We have a killer youth team coming with us this year and I can’t wait to catch up with the MK’s that will be there.

MENTORED YOUTH MISSIONS TRIPS
**I’m working on a really catchy name for these trips**
Things are rolling right along with our partnership with the 2 week department here at MTW. (If you have no idea what I’m talking about you can read more about it here) We’ve made some really good headway on finding a location for the trip (Mexico!) and working on the training program for it. I’m really excited about where we are heading. I’d appreciate your continued prayers for this project. Also if your church’s youth group would be interested in coming on either a Spring Break or Summer Missions trip let me know!

Support Status

My monthly support pledges are at 58%!!! Part of my job now is to continue to raise new support and cultivate the supporters I already have.

There are 260 people that receive this email on a monthly basis. If just half of y’all committed to support me at $20 a month I would be fully funded! If you have been thinking about supporting me monthly and just not had a chance to do so or have any other questions please don’t hesitate to let me know.MTW now has Online Donations! You can donate online at www.mtw.org
OR
send a check to MTW
PO Box 116284
Atlanta GA 30368
Please include my name and account number #10660 in the memo line.
You can download my prayer card here!
I pray that all is well with you and yours. So thankful for you.

By His Mercy,
Ruthanne

Leave a Reply

