June Update

30 Jun

Oh the Places You’ll Go
The title of this Dr. Seuss book has never been more applicable to my life. If someone told me 10 years ago I’d have traveled to Japan & Mexico, taken a seminary class, had plans to go to Malaysia, and was going to be living in New York City for a month all in one year I would have laughed and laughed. But here I am in the middle of one of the craziest but most fun years of my life. I’m so overwhelmed with gratitude at all the places the Lord has taken me and look forward to with anticipation of all the plans he still has for me…

…Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. To give you a future and a hope…
Jeremiah 29:11

Cross Cultural Ministry Internship

By the time most of you read this I’ll (hopefully) be sitting in the Atlanta Airport ready to board the plane headed for New York City for July. I’ll be among the leadership team for Mission to the World’s Cross Cultural Ministry Internship (CCMI). My specific role is to lead the program for the kids ages 11 & up.

This isn’t my first time to CCMI. Back in 2003 I interned with this program – then called pre-field training. Over the past 3 years I’ve gone up for a few days to meet the missionaries that are going through the training and talk to them about raising their kids on the mission field. I’m so excited to be able to spend the whole month with these folks and especially the MKs. I would so appreciate your prayers for our time in New York. Specifically you can be praying for:
1- The participants as they go through the training needed to live and work overseas.
2- For the leadership team that we would be unified as we work together.
3- For the youth program. That I would lead these kids well and we’d have fun exploring the city and learning about other cultures.

I can’t wait to tell you all about what the Lord will do during this month.

Re-Entry & Summer Conference
While I’m in New York, Eric & Rebecca Larsen along with Brooks & Riva Cain will be leading the youth programs at Re-Entry & Summer Conference. It feels weird to not be going this summer but I know it will be a great time for them there. I know they’d appreciate your prayers for their time with those Missionary Kids too.

Mentored Missions Trips
I’ve been given an exciting opportunity to head up a new program in conjunction with the two-week department at MTW. I’ll be developing a program for Youth Groups where they can take a group of students on a missions trip where we mentor the group through each stage of going on a missions trip; pre-training, “deployment” and de-briefing. We want to provide help churches and youth groups really see and understand God’s redemptive story by serving on missions trip. This is a new program and I’m so excited to see where the Lord will take this. If you’d like to know more information about these trips please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me.

Support Update
I’ve had exciting news of two new supporters to join my support team – one individual and one church! My monthly support pledges are still at 52% but will go up when I hear from the church as to their exact pledge amount. Please join me in thanking the Lord for these new supporters!!
Did you know that I have 131 fans on my facebook page?  I don’t say this to brag but to say if just 90 of those fans gave just $25 a month I would be fully funded! If you are already a supporter would you consider raising your pledge $10 – $20 a month? If you have been thinking about supporting me monthly and just not had a chance to do so or have any other questions please don’t hesitate to let me know.

MTW now has Online Donations! You can donate online atwww.mtw.org
OR
send a check to MTW
PO Box 116284
Atlanta GA 30368
Please include my name and account number #10660 in the memo line.
You can download my prayer card here!
I’m so thankful for all of you. Your prayers, encouragement and financial support are blessing from God. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!

By His Mercy,
Ruthanne

Leave a Reply

