i had a moment…

25 Apr

…I was all by myself in my car driving to church on Sunday. My drums in the back. I was listening to the local christian radio station. I don’t normally listen to the christian radio station. I find the DJs to be really cheesy and they play the same things over and over again. But i’m still trying to figure out a good way to listen to my ipod in my car and NPR just wasn’t cutting it on Easter Sunday. I needed some worship tunes.

So I’m driving along 75/85 about to hit the Grady curve when this song comes on the radio.

My Savior My God by Aaron Shust

I am not skilled to understand what God has willed, what God has planned
I only know at His right hand stands one who is my Savior

I take Him at His word and deed Christ died to save me; this I read
And in my heart I find a need of Him to be my savior

That He would leave His place on high and come for sinful man to die
You count it strange, so once did I before I knew my Savior

My Savior loves, My Savior lives my Savior’s always there for me
My God: He was, my God; He is my God is always gonna be

Yes, living, dying, let me bring my strength, my solace from this spring;
That He who lives to be my King once died to be my Savior

I’ve listened to this song many times before but this morning something about it struck me and I started weeping in my car. While I was driving.
It was these words that set me off.
I take Him at His word and deed Christ died to save me; this I read
And in my heart I find a need of Him to be my savior

That He would leave His place on high and come for sinful man to die
You count it strange, so once did I before I knew my Savior

I was actually surprised at myself. I don’t often start crying in the car because of a song but the words struck my heart. I thinking about my need for a savior and how I try and try to save myself but fail so miserably every time. every. time.
The chorus proclaims that my Savior lives! my Savior loves! and my Savior is always there for me. I need a neon sign following me around telling me this over and over again.
You can listen to this song here. *i apologize for the horrible font choices in this video. it was the only one without cheesy pictures attached to it*
Leave a Reply

