April Update

13 Apr

Out of Control

Have you ever felt like you are completely out of control of your life? Circumstances just keep getting crazier and crazier and you just don’t know if you can handle it? It get’s pretty overwhelming doesn’t it. The Lord’s been teaching me a lot about control lately…mainly that I am not in control – HE IS! And oh what a relief that is know that someone else is in control and He’s got it all under control. But it’s a hard lesson to learn isn’t it. I so much want to be in control of my life, my calendar because I certainly know whats best for me don’t I? 😉

It’s a daily act of surrender for me to say to God, “I know you know what’s best for me so Lord do what you will with my life.” Sometimes this is hard and it takes you WAY out of your comfort zone. Sometimes the Lord surprises you with His mercy and His plan is way better than what you could have imagined. In whatever circumstance it may be it’s often a hard lesson to learn at first.

I’m so thankful that my heavenly Father is in control of my life and not me. I definitely don’t make the best decisions all the time so it’s a comfort to know He is in control.

“Morning by morning I wake up to find the power and comfort of God’s hand in mine. Season by season I watch Him, amazed, in awe of the mystery of His perfect ways” – Sara Groves

Meeting them where they are.

We’ve all seen the images and news reports of the earthquakes & tsunami in Japan. MTW has had a presence in Japan through generations of missionaries for many many years. Thankfully the Lord kept our missionaries safe during the earthquakes and tsunami and they have been working tirelessly ever since the first earthquake hit to proved relief and support to those affected by this disaster. I’ve been keeping in touch with the MKs in Japan making sure they are doing OK during this time. Facebook & Skype have been a great resource but it’s nothing like going and being with them in person. I’m very excited to have the privilege to go to Japan next month and spend a week with the MKs and team there. I’ll be spending time with the MKs, talking with them, seeing what life is like for them. and while they are in school the plan is to help with some of the relief effort or assist the team there with anything they may need. I would appreciate your prayers for this trip; for safety and for great times of encouragement to the MKs and their families.

From Mountains to Skyscrapers!

Every summer since 2008 I’ve spent 2 weeks at Ridgehaven Camp in Brevard, NC for MTW’s Re-Entry & Summer Conference. It’s always a wonderful time catching up with Missionary Kids who’s families are back in the states for Home Ministry Assignment. It’s one of my favorite events of the year. My plan was to head back to Brevard again for another two weeks in the mountains. Well….God had different plans. I’ve been asked by MTW’s Global Training and Development department to head up the youth program at their Cross Cultural Ministry Internship (CCMI). CCMI (formerly known as Pre-Field Training) is a month long training program for new missionaries & their families to help them prepare for life on the field. So I’ll be heading to New York City for the month of July to spend time with the new MKs that will be in NYC with their parents participating in CCMI. I’ll be leading the teenagers in activities helping them prepare for moving to another country. I’m really looking forward to this and I’m anticipating the Lord to do great things during this time. I’m sad to not be able to touch base with the MKs who will be at Re-Entry & Summer Conference but I’m pumped to be meeting and building relationships with these new MKs.

Thanks for Praying!

Thank you for your prayers. The Lord was gracious in so many ways this past month.

Eric’s writing hiatus went well and he made great headway on the book. My time speaking at the Vision Retreat and Interview & Orientation also went very well. It was wonderful to get to meet new missionaries and also get to see some old friends that were going through.

My time at Carriage Lane Presbyterian Church was also such an encouraging time for me. It’s so fun to get to share the vision of the Global Youth & Family Ministry and see people catch that vision and want to do more. Thank you Carriage Lane for making me feel so welcome.

Our website is almost done! By the time I send out my next update I should be able to show it to you.

Support Status

My monthly support pledges are at 52%. Part of my job now is to continue to raise new support and cultivate the supporters I already have.Did you know that I have 131 fans on my facebook page?  I don’t say this to brag but to say if just 90 of those fans gave just $25 a month I would be fully funded! If you are already a supporter would you consider raising your pledge $10 – $20 a month? If you have been thinking about supporting me monthly and just not had a chance to do so or have any other questions please don’t hesitate to let me know.

MTW now has Online Donations! You can donate online at www.mtw.org
OR
send a check to MTW
PO Box 116284
Atlanta GA 30368
Please include my name and account number #10660 in the memo line.
You can download my prayer card here!
I’m so thankful for all of you. Your prayers, encouragement and financial support are blessing from God. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!

By His Mercy,
Ruthanne

One Response to “April Update”

  1. Angela February 27, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    Hello to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is
    getting more from this website, and your views are pleasant in favor of
    new people.

Leave a Reply

