How would He come?

19 Dec

Everything was ready. The moment God had been waiting for was here at last! God was coming o help His people, just as He promised in the beginning.

But how would he come? What would he be like? What would he do?

Mountains would have bowed down. Seas would have roared. Trees would have clapped their hands. But the earth held its breath. As silent as snow falling, he came in. When no one was looking, in the darkness, he came.

Jesus Storybook Bible – page 176 – adapted from Luke 1 & 2

:::

We’re a week away from the big day…Are you ready? Do you think Mary and Joseph felt ready? They had just been given the biggest shock of their life…I bet they never thought their family would start the way it did.

:::

One morning, this girl [Mary} was minding her own business when, suddenly, a great warrior of light appeared – right there in her bedroom. He was Gabriel and he was an angel, a special messenger from heaven.

“Mary, you’re going to have a baby. A little boy. You will call him Jesus. He is God’s own Son. He’s the One! He’s the Rescuer!”

The God who flung the planets into space and kept them whirling around and around, the God who made the universe with just one word, the one who could do anything at all – was making himself small. And coming down…as a baby.

So Mary trusted God more than what her eyes could see. And she believed. “I am God’s servant,” she said. “Whatever God says, I will do.”

:::

On the outside Mary seems very faithful, obedient even compliant to this news that she is going to be a Mom without ever having “done the deed” if you will, with Joseph. (yea…I went there) What do you think was going on in her heart?  I know if it were me i would be FAH-REAKING OUT! Questioning God’s plan left and right. Questioning whether I was the right person for this monumental task.

To be honest with you I don’t have this post wrapped up in a neat little bow. It is one of those mysteries of God that I don’t think I will ever understand.  Why He chooses the people He chooses to do the tasks he has. I’m not comparing my self to Mary but I think that about me and the job he has for me in this stage of my life.  It just baffles me.

But one thing that I love are the characters and stories that God has used & woven together to tell His story. About our rescuer.  Who’s coming!

Leave a Reply

