lessons from songs – thy mercy

21 Apr

**i accidentally posted this as a page and not a blog post – i’m still a wordpress noob. i thought i had lost it so i’m glad it is found**

i love this song – so much so that the intro to this version is the ringtone on my phone. i sometimes what till the last minute to answer my phone so i can listen to all of it – so if you happen to be calling me and i miss your call and call you right back that might be why 😉

as the Lord takes me through life i often forget that everything i have, am blessed with and experience is all because of His mercy on me. this morning this song popped into my head and i started singing it in the shower – yes i sing in the shower – that’s neither her nor there – these lyrics in particular struck me – “Without Thy sweet mercy I could not live here; Sin would reduce me to utter despair” – so true huh? without the Lord’s mercy and grace in my life i would be a puddle of mess on the floor – and that’s putting it mildly. i can’t even comprehend where i would be without the mercy of my savior.

the last verse in this song is one of such hope and promise. “Great Father of mercies, Thy goodness I own, And the covenant love of Thy crucified Son; All praise to the Spirit, Whose whisper divine Seals mercy, and pardon, and righteousness mine.” HALLELUJAH!! oh what love we own because our Father has sealed the covenant with us through His Son. Oh Glory! This is cause to REJOICE! what a promise we have!

Leave a Reply

