nostalgia

20 Apr

i’m doing a presentation tomorrow to a group of pastors about my missionary kid experience and how pastors can encourage mk’s and their families. i wanted to show some pictures to them – i mean, what would a missionary presentation be without pictures. so i started digging around in some old files that my parents are storing at our house and i found some awesome pictures.

this is my aunt, sister and i walking down the lane that leads to my grandparent’s old farm in maryland. i remember walking down this lane so many times with the view of the house ahead. we’d pick up used shotgun shells on the way too…what was awesome. so many memories at riverview

here is my sister and i walking down to the dock that is out back of riverview. check out our awesome fisher price binoculars – we were so cool…

my dad’s passport from when he travelled to sweden to work with the navigators for 2 years…pretty sweet

while digging through old prayer letters i stumbled upon this picture of kate and i. kate has to be one of my best friends. we’ve know each other since we were nine and i HATE that we live in different countries. kate also has a blog for her card business that you should check out here

all my aunts and uncle on my mom’s side at one of my great grandmother’s birthday parties. so fancy

my dad…i’d never seen this before….love this picture

:::

it was really comforting looking back over old prayer letters my parent’s had sent out over the course of them raising support and ministering in australia. i came across one that chronicled our final days in the states and the trip to australia. there was a picture of my sister and i hugging our grandmother mee maw. i bawled. i hadn’t seen that picture in ages and it brought back so many memories of that day. i was only eight but i remember it being hard. it was hard to watch my parents say good bye but not really understand the sacrifice they were making by leaving their family behind. i understand it now and am thankful for it. it’s one of the reasons i’m doing this.

3 Responses to “nostalgia”

  1. kate mansfield April 20, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Wow…great photos! What a lovely trip down memory lane!

  2. MOM April 20, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    You made me cry! I can’t see the photo of my sibs and me! So – you found the prayer letters! Did you find the prayer cards? Did you share this stuff with Rebekah too?

  3. Mary Ann April 20, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    This was so touching. I am so glad that you can look back now and see the many choices your parents have made and see God’s handiwork in it all. They have indeed made many sacrifices. It is beautiful that you can see that, experience it yourself, and encourage others in their journey of faith and obedience to God’s calling.

    You are so blessed dear Ruthanne! You are blessed to be a blessing!!! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

