A whole lotta random

9 Feb

I once read a piece of advice for bloggers that said never apologize if you haven’t posted in a while. Just pick right back up from where you left off. So this is me not apologizing for not blogging and this is also me picking back up from where I left off.

I honestly have no idea where I’ve been the past month or so. It’s been pretty crazy between work, travels, family, friends and church. So I’ll just share the busyness…whatever it may be. Enjoy!

I’m taking djembe classes! Every Sunday evening I go bang on a drum for an hour and it is SO much fun. The class is not what i was expecting when i first signed up but I’ve enjoyed it none the less. If you are wondering that’s a djembe right there —>

After my trip to St. Louis and getting to sit in on a seminary class I’m beginning to take teeny tiny little baby steps towards possibly taking a seminary class or two as an actual student. (excuse me while i go throw up from nervousness)

I saw the Kings Speech a few weeks ago and it was hands down one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. I thoroughly (side note – it just took me 7 tries and then asking spell check to spell thoroughly correctly – for the love) enjoyed it and to be perfectly honest was one of the first movies in a while where I could personally relate to the main character Bertie. (King Georgie VI)  No…I’ve never been a reluctant royal fearful to take the throne but I have struggled with a speech problem and understand the crippling fear that comes with speaking in public. Anyway…It’s a great movie!

I don’t often have a lot of time to read but I do spend at the least almost an hour in the every weekday so I like to listen to books on CD. Lately I’ve been listening to a Trilogy called the Hunger Games. The books are set in a futuristic North America where the Government controls everything; where you live, what you can eat, your occupation and most of the country is in utter poverty. Once a year 24 people (aged 12-18) are chosen to take place in a gladiator/survival game called “The Hunger Games” where you have to fight to the death. And that’s all I’m going to tell you because the more I try and describe it the crazier it will sound.  Just read/listen to them. It’s really good.

My church is going through the book of Ephesians right now and I’m loving it. I’ve been trying to be more intentional about taking notes during the sermon and it’s really been helping me pay attention. My bible study group is also doing an inductive study of Ephesians so the sermon note-taking is super helpful for this too.

I’m 3 for 4 in my quest to see each kind of pro sports games live here in the US. Thanks to my friend Shannon (who works for Cartoon Network and gets free tickets to Atlanta sports events) I got to see a Atlanta Thrashers game (Pro Hockey) a few weeks ago and we’ve got a Hawks game in the books for March.

I think that’s enough for now. That was much longer than I anticipated. I hope you’ve enjoyed this installment of a whole lotta random. I may just have to do a post like this again!

 

2 Responses to “A whole lotta random”

  1. Matt Harris February 10, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    What’s your one pro event you haven’t been to yet? Is NASCAR included in that? If not, it should be. Even if you don’t consider yourself a NASCAR fan, like hockey, it’s awesome in person.

    • ruthanneclare February 10, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

      NBA – that’s the game i’m going to in march. and you are right..i did not include nascar as a pro sport. and i’m not sure i want too. i do agree it probably is fascinating to watch live. I’m just not sure i would consider it a sport. but that’s just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

